Just another WordPress.com weblog

doing the Right thing.

I still do not have a voter’s card. I might get one made since I am told it is useful as identity proof. Plus I like cards with my picture on them.

The recent elections passed without me exercising my shiny new right to adult franchise. I am not proud. Even if I had voted though, what was to be proud of? Show me which party or candidate in my constituency was worthy of approval. To select the lesser of the evils seemed like an evil thing itself. Asking me to judge which shit looks prettier is unreasonable.

The 49-0 campaign ended in disaster. Big chunk of voters did not know of the procedure and others who knew were met with clueless election officers.

To make your disapproval felt, you had to ask for and fill a separate form so that you may lawfully show all the candidates your middle finger. It makes no difference to the outcome though. What is the blasted use of this? It’s like hating cricket, still going to the game and closing your eyes or sticking out your tongue as a sign of protest. The cricketers will still have the last laugh. And they will laugh loudest at you.

In hindsight, maybe the election officers are not uninformed at all. They know all the rules in the book. Imagine what a tough job it must be, supervising those many folks through the day. Adding to that, you tell them to fish out special papers for a mere 20-30 people and clear their doubts, wait while they write out details, fold the forms when they are done and safeguard them. When, in fact, their no-vote will have as much utility as my pet amoeba. It is little wonder then why the smartypants officers fake ignorance. Bless them.

This rant is only a figment of my stunted thought process. You must not subscribe to it. To those who are still reading, my decision is that I will wait on the world to change. Let 49-0 become a part of the secret ballot. Let it become a button on the damned machine and be counted so that thug-like candidates are not allowed to contest in further elections. Allow me a right that will help stem the damage.

Then I will gladly make a trip to the polling booths, and not as a spectator.

3 responses

  1. Well, India is a nation of spectators. It is made up of constitutions and rules. So when something exciting like 49-0 comes into limelight, people just take it up coz it’s the “in” thing. Considering that there seems to be no other way to protest.

    August 21, 2009 at 4:31 pm

  2. Sharvari

    I know what you are talking about. Choosing between the devil and the deep blue sea… Sadly there is no mean we can find. It is just like getting up to the dreaded situation everyday, not being able to do something about and finally accepting it as a part of our lives.
    Ok enough of gyan….
    As of now, we have bigger issues that concern us… the drought, increasing prices. global warming, load shedding, etc…
    chuck the 49-o… its not going to change things.

    August 21, 2009 at 4:54 pm

  3. fullyfurnished

    this evoked response. that’s cool!

    September 27, 2009 at 7:51 pm

Leave a Reply

